For more information, contact:
Alison McIntosh, Neighborhood Partnerships               
(503) 816-2882,

Mayors, council members, commissioners join state legislators who support limiting no-cause evictions

Salem, Ore. – As the legislature enters its final full week, local elected officials across the state, including mayors, city councilors, county commissioners, and school board members are urging lawmakers not to leave Salem without passing legislation to help keep families in their homes and reduce homelessness amidst a statewide housing crisis. Over 40 officials sent the joint letter to Senate President Peter Courtney, who has so far refused to let the bill move to the Senate Floor for a full vote after it was approved by the Senate Rules Committee. Also copied on the letter were other members of the Senate leadership.

Read the full letter: 
July 4, 2017

All Oregon State Senators
900 Court St. NE
Salem Oregon 97301

Dear Esteemed Colleagues of the Oregon State Senate:

We are writing to urge your support of HB 2004-C, which will limit no-cause evictions and provide basic fairness and stability to the forty percent of Oregon’s residents who live in rental housing.

As state and local elected officials, the most urgent issue we continually hear about from constituents -- at town hall meetings, in letters and phone calls, and in everyday conversations -- is that our families need relief and security in their struggle to keep a safe, stable place to call home.

Clearly, Oregon is experiencing an affordable housing crisis, with renters bearing the burden of a booming market that gives great power to those who own and control property. Thousands of families have had their lives completely up-ended by massive rent increases and no-cause evictions, and many have been pushed into homelessness. Without this bill, landlords will continue to be able to use no-cause evictions to discriminate or retaliate against families of color, those with disabilities, survivors of domestic violence, and tenants who simply ask their landlord to make legally required repairs. According to the Portland Housing Bureau Housing Choice Survey, sixteen percent of households in the Portland tri-county area were forced to move, against their wishes, within the last five years. We also know that the average African American, Native, and Latino household can no longer afford to live within Portland city limits without being severely cost burdened. The ripple effects of this housing insecurity and displacement extend to our places of worship, neighborhoods and schools.

HB 2004-C will not prevent landlords from evicting tenants who violate the terms of their rental agreements, however, it will protect families from losing their homes through no fault of their own. Tens of thousands of families are looking to us to respond decisively to the housing crisis as we face a reality where some investors and landlords are profiteering with impunity, while vulnerable families and children suffer the burden.

Please do not leave Salem without taking this simple, common-sense step to protect our families, and pass HB 2004-C. Oregon’s renters deserve the basic right of housing stability.


Ted Wheeler                                                               Nick Fish
Mayor of Portland                                                       Portland City Commissioner

Chloe Eudaly                                                              Amanda Fritz
Portland City Commissioner                                       Portland City Commissioner
Dan Saltzman                                                             Deborah Kafoury
Portland City Commissioner                                       Chair, Multnomah County
Sharon Meieran                                                          Jessica Vega Pederson       
Multnomah County Commissioner                             Multnomah County Commissioner    

Mark Gamba                                                               Angel Falconer
Mayor of Milwaukie                                                     Milwaukie City Councilor

Lisa Batey                                                                   Wilda Parks
Milwaukie City Councilor                                             Milwaukie City Councilor

Shane Abma                                                                Sam Chase
Milwaukie City Councilor                                             Metro Councilor

Bob Stacy                                                                    Kay Brooks    
Metro Councilor                                                           Medford City Council

Tom Koehler                                                                Amy Konhstamm
Chair, PPS School Board                                            Vice Chair, PPS School Board

Scott Bailey                                                                 Paul Anthony
PPS School Board                                                      PPS School Board

Mike Rosen                                                                 Rita Moore
PPS School Board                                                      PPS School Board-Elect

Tom Anderson                                                            Chris Hoy
Salem City Council                                                     Salem City Council

Sally Cook                                                                  Greg Malinowski
Salem City Council                                                     Washington County Commissioner               

Dick Schouten                                                             Andrea Valderrama
Washington County Commissioner                             David Douglas School Board                      

Lucy Vinis                                                                    Sarah Westover
Mayor of Eugene                                                         Phoenix City Councilor 

Barb Campbell                                                             Nathan Boddie
Bend City Councilor                                                     Bend City Councilor

John Stromberg                                                            Emily Berlant
Mayor of Ashland                                                         Talent City Councilor

Dennis Slattery                                                             Karin Power
Ashland City Councilor                                                 Oregon State Representative

Tawna Sanchez                                                            Alissa Keny-Guyer   
Oregon State Representative                                      Oregon State Representative

Susan McLain                                                               Diego Hernandez
Oregon State Representative                                       Oregon State Representative

Carla Piluso                                                                
Oregon State Representative                                      


AuthorChristine Saunders